These Boots Are Made For Rockin’

Image

Danny Clinch is partly to blame for this image. Modelo tallboys may have also played a role.

On a night off on the 2010 tour in Manhattan, I got invited to shoot the Black Keys at Summerstage in Central Park. The Keys were fantastic that night, totally on top of their game and just killing the songs off Brothers. Danny was also shooting that night, and after the show, a small group of folks headed over to his studio to drink some Modelo tallboys and shoot the bull. I think we maybe watched some of the Louisiana Fairytale footage and a few other things Danny had in the hopper. Modelos were consumed late into the evening, and at some point, we started talking about the Heartbreakers tour.

“So how many shows have you shot so far?” Danny asked.

“Twenty or so, I think,” I replied.

“Have you gotten bored yet?” Danny asked.

“Not yet,” I said. “This is my first time out with the guys, so everything’s still pretty new.”

“Well, when I want to mix things up a little, I shoot people’s feet,” he said. “Their shoes, I mean. Something different, you know.”

Two nights later in Philly, Tom walked onstage wearing these beauties, and I remembered what Danny had said. I got a bunch of great shots, including this one.

A few months later, when I was editing the images, Nancy Sinatra’s “These Boots Are Made For Walkin’” popped up on my iTunes shuffle. The photo was named. Tip of the hat to both Danny and Nancy.

Bid on These Boots Are Made For Rockin’ here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

